Over 35 Years Of Experience In The Florida Keys
Hutchison & Tubiana, P.L.L.C. has significant experience in representing individuals who have been charged with DUI offenses.
We also have a proven track of securing the innocence of their clients by employing effective and creative defense strategies that have resulted in countless dismissal of charges prior to trial as well as many defense verdicts after jury and judge trials.
We will stop at nothing to help you secure the most favorable outcome possible. When your driving privileges and future have been put at stake, do not wait to act.
What To Expect
Lose Your License
Depending on your case you can lose your license anywhere from 180 days to a year. You may also experience fees in order to reinstate your license. These charges can vary depending on if your license was revoked or suspended. You will be required to maintain a FR-44 for 3 years and if allowed to have a restricted drivers license, an ignition interlock device.
There are two outcomes of being convicted for a DUI charge. The first is administrative, with consequences of having your license suspended. The second, is under criminal law and results in fines, parole, and sentencing. The conviction goes on your criminal record, but depending on your case there are possibilities of getting it expunged.
How Bad Can It Get?
- A conviction for a first-time DUI offense in the state of Florida:
- Could cost you as much as $1,000
- Up to six months in jail
- Possibility of losing your driver’s licenses for up to six months
- Fifty hours of community service
- DUI School
- The consequences of a second-offense DUI typically include:
- License suspension
- Vehicle impoundment and having to install an ignition interlock device (IID).
- There’s also mandatory jail time for motorists who are convicted of a second DUI in five years.
- A third-offense DUI typically carries penalties including:
- License Suspension
- Vehicle Impoundment and having to install an Ignition interlock device (IID)
- If a drivers third DUI comes within ten years of one of the prior two DUIs, there is mandatory jail time
- If driver had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15% or more, was involved in an accident with property damage or someone being injured, or had a passenger who was under 18 years old penalties can worsen.
- The fourth-offense DUI is considered felonies of the third degree:
- It is automatically considered a felony regardless of the amount of time between the third and fourth violations.
- There is no enhanced version of a fourth DUI offense, and there is no window of time that separates harsher or lesser penalties.
- Heavy fines that are greater than $2,000
- License Revocation
- Vehicle Impoundment
- DUI School